Curried Apple Parsnip Soup


Sweet creamy and yet tart…delicious soup!

Sweet creamy and yet tart…delicious soup!

Apple Parsnip Curry Soup

A few days ago, while reading the newspaper, I came across a recipe for curried apple parsnip soup.  Initially I wrinkled my nose and turned the page.

Granny Smith apples and parsnips? Um…yeah, no.

But as I flipped through the rest of the paper, skimming over stories of our mayor and his drug usage….oh pardon me, alleged drug usage….a part of my mind continued to consider that soup and how it would taste.

I’m a person who tends to like a lot of the vegetables that others hate with a passion…brussel sprouts, rutabaga, parsnips.
(You want me to turn up my nose? Throw in some olives.  Bleh.) So, Granny Smith apples…love ’em.  With dip, with cheese, in a salad, on their own.  Parsnips…again with the enjoyment. They have a strong autumn-y earthy flavour.  They are root vegetables and you know it when you eat them! In stews, soups, yep, I like them too.

Add the curry, the cider and the cream….

The more I thought about it, the more curious I was to attempt this sweet earthy soup. Before getting off the subway, I did the rip-and-tear, pocketing the recipe while others looked over curiously to see what part of the paper had caught my eye.  Recipes usually get a quick blink of acknowledgement and then the masses go back to ignoring you.  It’s when you’re saving the odd articles that people give you a second look.

So last night, I attempted the soup and I’m glad I did!  My only regret is that it only made a small pot.  Our leftover soup was minimal, equivalent to one bowl so we’re going to have to rock-paper-scissors over it or something.

It is an amazing soup!
The sweetness/tartness of the apples remains, but yet the actual apple flavour is minimal.  The parsnips ground the flavours making it robust and filling.

Definitely a perfect soup for a cool crisp autumn evening!

Apple Parsnip Curry Soup

  • 45 ml (3 tbsp) butter
  • 1 large cooking onion, peeled and diced
  • 5 ml (1 tsp) curry powder (I used more like 15ml)
  • 4 parsnips, trimmed and cut into 1-cm (1/2-inch) pieces
  • 1 carrot, peeled and diced
  • 2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1 l (4 cups) vegetable stock
  • 250 ml (1 cup) cider (approx)
  • 250 ml (1 cup) 18% cream
  • Sea salt and white pepper, to taste
  1. In stock pot, heat butter over medium heat. Add onion and cook until soft. Add curry, parsnips, carrot and apples and cook for 5 minutes, stirring.
  2. Add stock. Bring to a simmer and cook at a low simmer for 25 to 30 minutes or until vegetables and apples are tender.
  3. Purée soup. I used a hand blender and pureed until almost completely smooth.
  4. Add cider and milk or cream. If soup is too thick, add more cider, 125 ml (1/2 cup) at a time, until desired consistency is reached. Season with pepper and salt.
  5. Consider adding some cheese on top before serving if you wish.
About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

