Chili Tip


So this evening…I learned something about making chili.

Don’t strain your beans. If in a can, just add your beans as they are.

Somehow I got it into my head that rinsing my canned  kidney beans was  a good idea before adding them to the chili.

Not so much when you need the starch to pull everything together.

Veggie Chili after many modifications

Veggie Chili after many modifications

I was attempting this recipe: http://vegetarian.about.com/od/vegetariancrockpotrecipe/r/crockvegchili.htm

The above picture was taken after all my modifying which included:

1) more spices than called for

2) a flour/water mix to thicken the chili

3) a splash of vinegar to add a high note to the flavour

4) addition of more salt to add to the flavour

At the end of the experiment, I have the picture above.  A pretty good bowl of pseudo-chili that will go well on rice. 🙂

 

NOTE: October 7, 2013

On Facebook, we have had quite the discussion about chili and rinsing the beans.

A few people have noted that rinsing diminishes the, shall we say unpleasant, by-product of beans.  Since my chili was made to eat during the week while I’m working…I guess we’ll see about that! 😉

Another suggestion was to mix in a roux rather than a straight flour-water mix.  So noted for next time.

One other step I took last night that I didn’t mention before is that I left the lid off the slow cooker during the final hour (I cooked it for 6 hrs) to allow some of the liquid to evaporate. That too made a huge difference.

 

For some reason, chili continues to be my nemesis!  One day I will figure this out and all the amazing-tasting, non-gaseous chili will be mine!!! Muah  hahahahaha!!

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

2 responses to “Chili Tip

Leave a Reply

