Celebrating Autumn with an easy and delicious Pumpkin Soup


After making pumpkin muffins, I turned my attention to pumpkin soup.

I am SO glad I did!

This soup is so freakin’ easy to make!  And it’s delicious!

It has a creamy consistency but contains no dairy at all.  Who knew pumpkin puree would thicken so much!

Click here for the recipe or scroll to the bottom of the post.

To start, you saute the onion, celery, leeks, garlic and ginger until tender.  Pretty straightforward, yes?

034 (Medium)

What I have to add to this post is that when I initially made this soup (I have made it three times so far!), I used a new knife that my mother sent to me.

036 (Medium)

When I got it in the mail, I asked if she had also bought one for herself, as the last time I visited, the knives so dull that I found myself using a paring knife to chop vegetables! 😉 She did grab one for herself, and I’m curious to know if she has noticed a difference!

I didn’t have any chicken stock, so while I sautéed the vegetables, I boiled a pot of water with two chicken bouillon cubes to make “stock”.

031 (Medium)

Once the water has boiled and your veggies are tender, you simply add them and your pumpkin puree to the pot and allow it to simmer for 20-30 minutes.
When I made pumpkin puree, I divided it up into two cup portions and froze it, so I was able to just grab a bag from the freezer.

037 (Medium)

Here is where you see the magic of this soup!  As it simmers, it thickens….not to mention it starts to smell damn good!

After the simmering is done, you blend it down.  The recipe called for a food processor, which I do not have, so I hand blended it.

044 (Medium)

I just need to add at this point that if you decide to blend it in a similar manner, exercise caution!!
I pulsed the blender….short bursts on/off, on/off.  Otherwise you have boiling liquid flying everywhere.
Not fun.
Trust me.
I know.

Once blended, you add the nutmeg and brown sugar.

045 (Medium)

It’s at this point that I got a little creative.  The first time I made this soup, I added a dash of cumin.  The second and third times, I added garam masala.
Both times I chose a sweet spice to kick up the flavour a bit.  Both worked out wonderfully so feel free to try either…although I admit I liked the garam masala mix a little more.

And then serve! Share it with friends or loved ones…or don’t…you may not want to! 😉

050 (Medium)

Pumpkin Soup

050 (Medium)

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 3/4 cup diced celery
  • 1 cup rinsed, sliced leeks
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh ginger
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups of pumpkin puree (3 cups of peeled pumpkin chunks)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • garam masala, add 1/4 tsp at a time to taste
  • sour cream if desired for garnish (or plain yogourt)
  1. In a large saucepan, melt butter and heat oil over medium-high heat. Add onion, celery, leeks, garlic and ginger.  Saute until tender (about 5 min)
  2. (At this point I transferred all to a larger, deeper pot) Add stock, pumpkin, and salt. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer 20-30 minutes…until soup has thickened.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.  Using a handblender, CAREFULLY blend and puree the soup until smooth.
  4. Stir in sugar and nutmeg along with a dash of garam masala.
  5. Allow to heat over med-high heat, 5-10 minutes, until flavours are blended.  Add garam masala to taste…I have added the equivalent of 1/3 to 1/2 tsp.
  6. Ladle into bowls and garnish each with some sour cream (or yogourt) if desired.

Recipe adapted from: The Ultimate Soup Cookbook by Reader’s Digest

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

