Roasted Veggie Salad – Fast and Easy!


One complaint I hear often about salad, and it’s a complaint I also have been known to make, is that it isn’t always filling…at least not long term.  This is true if you simply nibble on some greens and some carrot sticks but if you add more filling ingredients, a salad can carry you quite a ways.

This salad was inspired by one that I like to order at a nearby pub.  Of course, when you order something you really like at a restaurant, the challenge is then to recreate it yourself!

I walked in my door at 4:50pm and by 5:40,  I was sitting down to this yummy meal!

So here’s the deal…on my way home, I stopped at one of our little vegetable markets and bought:

                          • an eggplant
                          • a yellow and a red pepper
                          • a zucchini
                          • some baby spinach

I had the rest of the ingredients at home already:

                          • goat cheese
                          • pecans
                          • olive oil
                          • seasoning (thyme,basil, oregano mix)
                          • balsamic vinaigrette

I walked in the house and immediately preheated my oven to 350F.

Then I chopped up my vegetables…as much as I thought I could eat as I was making salad for one.
In this case, I used one small zucchini, half of the red pepper, half of the yellow pepper and almost half of the eggplant which was small-ish.

In a bowl, I drizzled olive oil over everything, put in a healthy dash of seasoning (probably more like a double dash), and tossed it all.  The eggplant slices got a little more attention and a little more oil so they wouldn’t dry out while roasting.

I covered a cooking sheet with foil, laid out the vegetables and put them in to roast for 15 minutes. At that point, I flipped the zucchini and eggplant (otherwise the eggplant starts to stick to the foil) and let them roast another 5 to 10 minutes…depends how tender you want them.

While they roasted, I filled a bowl with a layer of spinach and some chopped pecans.

When the vegetables were done to my liking, I used a spatula to lay them over the bed of spinach and immediately added my goat cheese so it would warm and soften.

Drizzle some balsamic vinaigrette over everything and you have an awesome, healthy and fast meal!

Obviously there are dozens and dozens of options to this recipe but the salad was so freakin’ good that I had to share! 😉

Happy Friday everyone!!

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

