Healthy Muffins! Blueberry Chocolate Chip (Also: Dealing with bad eggs and crystallized honey!)


I love muffins!  Warmed with butter…they can be SO good!

I recently got my hands on some quinoa flour and wheat bran…two ingredients I haven’t used before…and I searched online for a recipe that called for both items. I was also looking for a recipe that was healthy and that didn’t contain gobs of sugar and other garbage.

Within the first few pages of my Google search, I found this: http://www.livinghealthymom.com/chocolate-chip-blueberry-muffins/ Since I found this website, I have made these muffins a number of times and in many different ways.

Those of you who know me well will notice that the photos in the post were taken both at my old apartment, and my new one.  That is how long this post has been sitting in my Drafts pile!

Click here for the recipe or scroll to the bottom of the post.

Right from the beginning, I found myself altering the recipe.  The first time I made them, I didn’t have eggs, so I substituted more applesauce.  I have used different berries (blueberries, strawberries), different types of chocolate chips (or none at all!) and have added coconut on occasion.

They’re so simple!  Although the dough is usually an odd colour prior to baking due to my use of frozen blueberries!

You start out like any other muffin baking adventure…combining the wet ingredients: eggs, yogurt, raw honey, applesauce, olive oil and vanilla.

Mmmm, yummy! 😉

Mixed up wet ingredients…ready for step two!

As a sidenote to all of this, I have had interesting adventures with both the eggs in my fridge and the honey in my cupboard.

The eggs…well, there are times I lose track of eggs. They are supposedly a perfect shape, a perfect food, easy to prepare, easy to use…and easy to overlook.  At one point, I had eggs, but I had no idea whether they were still good.  I did some online research to find a way to identify the old and stinky from the young and nubile…Yeah yeah, nubile and stinky aren’t really opposites…deal with it.

The old and stinky float!

What I discovered was that old and either stinky or “almost” stinky eggs tend to float!  And so, of my four eggs, two were happy to become muffin guts while the other two, sad to say, joined the compost party in my green bin.

At the same time as this, I discovered that my honey was rock hard.

I have since moved to fresh, local honey but at the time of my initial muffin attempt, my honey was um…less than perfect? Hard and crystallized to be exact.

Heating up my crystallized honey!

So while I prepped the other ingredients, the honey sat in a bowl of boiled water…which sort of worked.

I have to admit, if you have access to fresh local honey…buy it. It makes all the difference!

Next step…putting the dry ingredients together.

The first time I made these muffins was also the first time I used my new flour sifter!!!

It was a little harder than I expected as the flour kept getting stuck between the two blades and I had to keep shaking it to keep the flour sifting.

Buy a cheap sifter and work a little harder.

But eventually, sifting was just neat!

This is my excited Flour Sifting Face!!! 😀

Once you have mixed your dry and wet ingredients together…your muffin mix looks like this:

Once you’ve mixed your dough, add your berries, chocolate chips and coconut if you want.
I tend to use frozen blueberries more often than not. I like to buy bags of frozen berries marked “Wild Canadian Blueberries” on the package.  That way I know I’m getting the little wee berries that I used to pick with my mother as a child…you know the ones I mean…the tiny blueberries whose flavour absolutely explodes in your mouth when you eat them…a perfect mix of tart and sweet….Not these large overgrown blueberries we find imported year-round that have had all their flavour sucked out of them in exchange for large size and longevity.

Anyway…rant over…

The dough gets pretty funky when you add your blueberries!

Whee! Purply dough!

Not so funky if you use strawberries instead….more pretty….

Then, of course, you move on to filling your muffin tin.  I was recently gifted with a non-stick muffin pan…had been using a metal one until then.

GO BUY A NON-STICK MUFFIN TIN!!!

They are a gift from the gods! lol  No more scrubbing…no more broken muffin bits!
*sigh* I love my new muffin tin!

The old muffin tin…grrrrrr!

They bake for a fairly short amount of time…and then you have muffins!  They’re so quick and so easy…perfect for when you have company popping by, even last minute! 🙂

Blueberry with chocolate chip and coconut

Strawberry and Chocolate Chip

 

Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffin

  • Ingredients:
    • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
    • 3/4 Quinoa flour
    • 1/4 cup wheat bran
    • 2 tablespoons flaxseed (gives the blueberry muffin a slight crunch)
    • 1/4 cup raw honey
    • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
    • 1/4 cup organic non-fat yogurt
    • 2 eggs (OR an extra 1/3 cup applesauce)
    • 2 tablespoons olive oil
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1 cup of fresh blueberries (OR frozen blueberries or strawberries)
    • 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
    • OPTIONAL: 1/4 cup coconut

    Directions:

    • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
    • Using your mixer combine eggs, yogurt, raw honey, applesauce, olive oil and vanilla.
    • Sift your flours, baking soda and baking powder together into a separate bowl.  Stir in wheat bran.
    • Combine your flour mixture and your wet mixture and mix by hand.
    • Stir in the chocolate chips/carob chips, the flaxseed and the blueberries.
    • Grease muffin pans with a bit of butter.
    • Bake for 18-20 minutes.
    • Serving size is 12 blueberry muffins using a standard size muffin tin, although I was able to make 10.

Recipe from  http://www.livinghealthymom.com/chocolate-chip-blueberry-muffins/

 

 

 

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

