Easy Salad and SO Good: Apples and blue cheese, who knew?



This is going to be a short post but that makes sense as this salad took me such a short time to throw together!

In the time I have taken up cooking, salads have continued to amaze me. You can put practically anything in them, add a theme, add some hot, add some cold…your imagination has no limitation!

 

Well, I suppose there are some things that just wouldn’t work…like nacho cheese Doritos and-….
You know, those *could* actually work in the right salad….
Anyway, I’m sure there are things out there that would turn our stomachs….
Avoid those ingredients.

So today I decided to have a salad for lunch and threw together the lovely collection you see above.

Ingredients?

Spinach and lettuce mixed greens
Half an apple, chopped
Dried cranberries, a handful
Chicken Breast, previously roasted plain and sliced
Blue Cheese, crumbled
Balsamic vinaigrette dressing (made with balsamic vinegar and olive oil)

Note about blue cheese:  This isn’t a cheese I enjoy on its own. A hunk of blue cheese, sans partner? No thanks. No crackers? no fruit? No eat.
But apples and blue cheese…my new favourite thing!  I bought extra creamy blue cheese this time around and it is heavenly! The acidity of the apple cuts through the cheese and the two tastes together….they work…at least according to my tastebuds!

I just SO enjoyed my salad today…I had to share!

 

 

 

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

