Cooking by smell = Fastest supper ever!


I came home this evening and wasn’t really in the mood to cook a long and involved meal.  At the same time, I was craving freshly prepared food, specifically some veg and some protein.

The cravings were such that I had no choice.  I gave into the need for a homemade dinner, but I focused on the timing and 35 minutes later, I was eating a delicious meal with leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch.

Stir-fry.

I just love a good stir-fry!  They’re easy to make and are infinitely flexible!  They’re even faster if you cheat like I did and use frozen vegetables. *wink*

Mmmm...tasty chicken stir-fry!

So fast, in fact, that the above shot is the only picture I managed to take!

As this dish is open to SO many options, I would love to know what your favourite ingredient is to put in a stir-fry.  I’m always looking for a way to mix it up. On that note, let’s get into my ingredients, shall we?  You’ll notice there are only a few measurements in my recipe below.  This is one of those very few dishes that I am comfortable making up as I go along.  Tonight, I based most of this dish on smell. That’s how I decided to add more soy, more pepper, etc.

That’s actually also how I chose the cajun spice!  My chicken was frying along with the sauces, garlic and salt/pepper.  I opened the bag of spice, smelled it, then smelled the frying chicken, back to the spice, back to the pan….and yep, it smelled good together!  I wonder if cooking courses teach that technique? 😉

 

CHICKEN STIR-FRY

 

1 skinless, boneless chicken breast, maybe more depending on the # of people, cut into small pieces
chili flakes
1-2 cups frozen vegetables, I used a yummy Asian mix
2-3 minced garlic cloves
salt
pepper
soy sauce
worcestershire sauce
olive oil
spices, up to you…I happened to have a small bag of cajun spice on hand so I used that 🙂
1 cup of quinoa or rice

  1. In a bowl, mix your chicken, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, garlic, salt, pepper and spices.  Leave it to marinade for a few minutes.
  2. While the chicken marinades, put quinoa in a small pot, add water to about 1/2 to 3/4″ above the quinoa and bring it to a boil.  Once boiling, turn down the heat, cover the pot and let it simmer.  (My quinoa only needed about 25 minutes but I would say to check it often to ensure it doesn’t overcook or run out of water and burn.)
  3. Heat a small drop of oil in a pan, over medium-high heat. Once hot, add your chicken mix.
  4. Fry for 5-10 minutes.  The timing will depend on the size of your chicken.  I sliced mine quite small and found it ready within 5 minutes.
  5. Add your vegetables and cover.
  6. Turn the heat down to medium-low, cover and let cook for 10 minutes or until vegetables are as tender as you want them. (Feel free to add a bit more soy, pepper, salt, spice depending on your preference.)
  7. Serve over quinoa or rice.
  8. A yummy addition?  A slight sprinkling of parmesan cheese!
About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

