Giving Old Vegetables New Life – My first Quiche


Why have I never tried making a quiche before?  I assumed it would be difficult.

I also have always thought of quiche as a breakfast food and generally, when I’m scavenging for breakfast, I’m drawn to the easier methods of preparation.  Cereal, yogourt and granola…you know, mix-y stuff rather than cook-y stuff.

But making my first quiche was eye opening.  Can be eaten anytime and is so freaking easy!

Especially if you cheat *wink*

Click here for the recipe or scroll to the bottom of the post.

If you have been following my blog, you have likely read about the homeless produce.  I mention it in my Beet Salad entry.  Some friends gave us a mountain of produce as they went away on vacation and this quiche is one of three items I was able to make with it all.

So, as I mentioned, I cheated.  I bought a pre-made pie crust.


…and I cooked it as directed on the package.  I figured I was making the filling for the first time, why complicate matters? 😉

While the pie crust was cooking, I chopped all the veggies I’d decided on for the filling: broccoli, spinach, onion and red pepper.  Oh, and of course I planned to add some cheese!

The nice thing about quiche is that it allows you to use up vegetables that are on their way out.  Wilting, wrinkly veggies are perfect for this dish! 🙂

I guessed at the size of broccoli bits I would need.

Wilting spinach? No problem!



Chopping and dicing is so relaxing.  In my career as a sign language interpreter, I have interpreted cooking classes and had the chance to watch students practice their knife skills.  Once they got the rhythm down, you could actually see the stress leave their arms, the knife becoming an extension of their fingers.  I have attempted to duplicate what I saw in those classes and have been somewhat successful.  Every so often, if I have enough to chop, I start to feel that rhythm as well.  My arms start to relax and the I think about how it feels…and I lose it! Ah well…more practice.

Another new ingredient for me in this recipe was nutmeg.  Well, I have used nutmeg before but never have I actually grated it.


I actually found the grating much simpler than I expected and the inside of the nutmeg was actually quite lovely.

Who would've thought? Such a remarkable pattern inside such an unremarkable seed.

 

In a large bowl, I beat together the eggs, cream, salt, pepper and nutmeg.  Once mixed well, I added my chopped veggies.  I found the mixture to be quite attractive 🙂


Then, simply pour it into your cooked pie crust.

Simply?  Not so much.

Ooops, a little overfull!

My recipe made a bit too much filling and I was left with an overfilled pie crust and about 1/2 cup of extra mixture.  In hindsight, I wish I’d made a whole bunch of little quiches in tart shells.  They’d be much easier to freeze and keep for future meals.  Ah well…next time 🙂

In the end, it turned out as it should.  Delicious!

Veggie Quiche

My first quiche, served with sauteed beet greens.


 

  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups filling ingredients, chopped & diced to preference (I used broccoli, onion, pepper and spinach.)
  • 4 eggs
  •  1/2 – 2 cups half-and-half cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded (I used marble cheese.)
  • 1 – 9 inch unbaked pie shell
  1. If you are using a premade pie crust, cook as per the directions on the box.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Beat together eggs and combine with cream and desired seasonings.
  4. Add chosen vegetables.
  5. Carefully pour mixture into the cooked pie crust.
  6. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes or until a knife inserted near the centre comes out clean. Let stand for 5 to 10 minutes before cutting into wedges to serve.
About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

2 responses to “Giving Old Vegetables New Life – My first Quiche

Leave a Reply

