Sauteed Beet Greens


In my previous post, I made an incredibly delicious beet salad.  Leftover from the beets was, of course, their green, leafy ‘do and I definitely didn’t want to waste any beet goodness so I did some research on possible recipes and decided to saute them as a side dish.

It was quick, it was easy…and it was YUM!  Three important attributes applicable to any (well, almost any) awesome side dish!

Click here for the recipe or scroll to the bottom of the

post.

So often in the past, I have thrown out perfectly good greens simply because I had no idea what to do with them.  They always seemed somewhat extraneous.

In this case, I’m glad B suggested cooking them up.  Not only were they yummy but I felt better for not tossing them. Now I find myself wondering what other greens are worth preparing that I’ve previously ignored?

First step, I removed the greens from the stems, as the stems are tougher and would take longer to cook.

This was followed by some chopping.  The greens I roughly chopped and the stems I cut into small bite-sized lengths.

I heated up my oil in a pan over medium heat and then added garlic and pepper flakes.

When the garlic started to brown, just slightly, I added the stems and allowed them to cook until tender…about 3 or 4 minutes.

Beyond this point, you have to use your imagination and I have to use my words as I forgot to take a picture of the final steps.

Once the stems were tender, I added the greens and covered with a lid.  They didn’t take long to steam, probably 2 minutes or so.

The greens were then served with a drizzle of lemon juice and, upon tasting them, I found their flavour reminded me quite a bit of steamed spinach.

 

In the picture above, you’ll notice the quiche.  My very first quiche and it was awesome! …To be posted 😉

Sautéed Beet Greens

  • a good sized bunch of beet greens
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • a pinch of dried chili/red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1-2 tablespoons of lemon juice (I used a squeezed lemon)


  1. Wash your greens.
  2. Separate the stems from the leaves.  Cut the stems into bite-sized pieces and roughly chop up the leaves.
  3. Heat olive oil in a fry pan.  Add garlic and pepper flakes.  Saute until the garlic starts to brown slightly.
  4. Add the stems and cook until tender. Add beet leaves and cook with lid on until desired tenderness.
  5. Sprinkle lemon juice over greens and serve.
About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

Leave a Reply

