A Real Woman of Philadelphia! (the cheese, not the place) – Entering my 1st cooking contest!


This blog post (and video!) is brought to you by the letters A, M and P….and Jen!

All four of them helped out with my video submission…but Jen is the only one of the four that I am positive wouldn’t mind having her name mentioned in my blog.

About a month ago, my mother called me to tell me about a cooking contest she’d heard about; The Real Women of Philadelphia, sponsored by Kraft.  I did a google search, found the website and read through the rules.  You had to submit a recipe that involved Philly cream cheese as an ingredient, plus a video showing how it’s done.  Contest Website

The recipe had to be an original recipes and I thought, “Hey, my mother’s Banana Dessert would be an awesome recipe to submit!  So easy…so yummy!”  The recipe had to be something that could be created in an hour or less and that dessert is easily done in 20 minutes.

So, last Thursday, I booked my friend M’s kitchen, as well as his equipment and knowledge of videography, and we attempted to make my very first cooking video!  Initially I practiced by making a strawberry version.  My friend Jen was on hand for the first practice.  She videoed the preparation, as well as her hunt for a rogue wooden spoon, with a small video camera we had on hand.  When M got home, we set up his webcam and ran through the creation again.  He used the little handycam we had to take close up shots.  The plan was to edit them together afterwards.  So, at the end we had two cheesecakes on hand and I had videos to edit.

Prepping for the video

At this point, I have to share M’s review of this cheesecake.  He absolutely swooned upon taking a bite and when more friends arrived (to help eat the cheesecakes) I asked him to share his review.  With semi-glazed eyes and a big grin (Would you believe you can get high on cream cheese? Or maybe it was the bananas! lol), he said:

“….if you could take all the magical creatures of the forest and gather then up … and puree them into this awesome white and fluffy, magical goodness…”

He never finished.  We were laughing too hard.  THAT’s the kind of reviews I’m looking for! Hehe.

Sadly, M had to run and it was only after he left that I took a good look at the video on my computer.  The lighting was so bright that details were lost.  You couldn’t actually see the ingredients I was using and the glare off of one potlight saturated the area making it unusable.

I couldn’t help but be frustrated and annoyed…I had used up all my ingredients and had two cheesecakes to show for it but no video.

Two friends had shown up, as M left, to help eat the cheesecake, as I have mentioned, and they immediately said, “So go buy more ingredients!  We’ll help record another video!”  Andy even offered to edit it for me.  I was hesitant….well, and cranky. 😉  It was 8pm and…making another cheesecake?  Not really what I wanted to do.  I hemmed and hawed….”I dunno….”  The Boy called from the road to say hi and, after I explained (well…ranted about) the predicament, he too said “Do it!!”

So, we headed to the grocery store…I bought ingredients…and we returned to M’s kitchen to start again.

The guys were great!  We had a lot of fun prepping the ingredients for Takes 3 and 4….Yes!  I had four cheesecakes at the absolute end of it all!  And…I had a video.  Thanks to M and A and P and Jen for all their help, including use of the kitchen and editing!  You guys rock!

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

2 responses to “A Real Woman of Philadelphia! (the cheese, not the place) – Entering my 1st cooking contest!

Leave a Reply

