Banana Cheesecake Dessert – We’re not in New York anymore, Toto!


Over the holidays, I made my mother’s famous Banana Dessert…. twice.  Both times, it went over incredibly well…at one party lasting about 10 minutes before the whole pan was gone!  The ultimate compliment! 🙂

Click here for the recipe or scroll to the bottom of the post.

Effectively, it’s a cheesecake dessert but with more of a pudding texture than the typical New York cheesecake that I’m used to…but either way…it’s CheeseCake!  ‘Nuff said! 🙂

It’s a fairly straightforward recipe, which you can find on my twin blog: Recipes from Edible Noir.

Before you go ahead and try it, I have to warn you that this dessert is incredibly rich!  And in my opinion, it makes it difficult to stop at one serving!  It goes over really well at parties and the best part?  It is SO easy to make!

My mother traditionally uses bananas but the fruit could be almost anything.  She once used kiwi, which was interesting and still quite yummy.  I would love to hear from any readers who substitute different fruit in the recipe. I keep meaning to try a berry of some kind but somehow, I always fall back on the traditional banana flavour.

I began by mixing together graham cracker crumbs, butter and sugar and then patting it into my baking dish.

Graham Cracker Bottom

Bottom

I decided to heat up the butter for two reasons.  One, I figured it would be easier to mix.  And two, once I patted the base into my baking pan, I assumed the butter would then solidify and more effectively hold it together. Thoughts?

I used a 9″ x 12″ pan.  That is the largest you could go following my recipe amounts.  For a more substantial bottom, I would probably pick a dish one size smaller.

Next, beat together the cream cheese and condensed milk until smooth. I tried beating it by hand with a wooden spoon but eventually I switched to an electric hand mixer.  I don’t think my arm would have lasted long enough to get all the lumps out. *wink*  Once you have mixed them well, set the bowl aside.

In a second bowl, mix 2 packages of Dream Whip according to the directions on the box, which will include the vanilla and milk.  I need to mention at this point that this isn’t meant to be a Kraft advertisement.  My mother has always used this product for this particular dessert and I have never experimented with any other whipped cream.  If any of you attempt this recipe and use a different type of whipped cream, please let me know how it turns out!

Once it is whipped and fluffy, fold in the cream cheese mixture.  (The following picture is a little misleading.  I didn’t use a mixer for this part, simply a wooden spoon to softly fold the two mixtures together.)

Once mixed, add the bananas and gently stir again until fully mixed.

Pour the topping over the graham cracker bottom. Sprinkle a bit of graham over the top and refrigerate overnight for best results.

If using bananas, dessert must be eaten within a couple of days as the bananas will turn black.

RECIPE

Bottom

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup white sugar

Topping

  • 1 pkg or small round container Philadelphia Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 can condensed milk
  • 2 pkg Dream Whip
  • 1 tsp vanilla (Dream Whip recipe)
  • 1 cup milk (Dream Whip recipe)
  • 3 bananas, sliced  (or another type of fruit)
  1. Mix together the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and butter.  I have found heating the butter to be quite helpful when mixing, which also allows it to solidify once placed in the pan.
  2. Pour into pan (I found the 9″ x 12″ almost too big so that would be the largest pan to use) and flatten.  This will be the dessert bottom.
  3. Beat together the cream cheese and condensed milk until smooth.  Set aside.
  4. Mix 2 packages of Dream Whip according to the directions on the box, which will include the vanilla and milk.
  5. Once it is whipped and fluffy, fold in the cream cheese mixture.
  6. Add the bananas and gently stir until fully mixed.
  7. Pour the topping over the graham cracker bottom.
  8. Sprinkle a bit of graham over the top and refrigerate overnight for best results.

NOTE: If using bananas, dessert must be eaten within a couple of days as the bananas will turn black.

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

3 responses to “Banana Cheesecake Dessert – We’re not in New York anymore, Toto!

Leave a Reply

