Pounding the Beef – Making my first Meatloaf


Want the recipe for this creation?  (Seriously…it’s quite yummy!  Don’t let the picture scare you! hehe)

Click here for the recipe or scroll to the bottom of the post.

This was my first time making meatloaf and I had visions in my head of my mother’s meatloaf: light, fluffy (yes, fluffy!), with a shiny coating of cooked ketchup on top.

Instead, a little over an hour later,  I wound up with this:

A greasy looking log in front of me that tasted pretty good but looked like something you don’t discuss over the dinner table.  Or as a friend put it, something you find stuck to your shoe.

It began quite well…

And I decided to try baking a loaf as well as meatballs in a muffin tin that I could freeze for future meals:

But again, it ended up like this:

I think my first problem was that I chose lean ground beef instead of extra lean.  The amount of grease that filled the pan, as well as gathered in the craters along the top was significant.  So much so that I used paper towel to soak up some of it.

The second problem was that I packed it into the pan; really jammed it in there.  My boyfriend put it best when he suggested that I “don’t stand on it next time…just lightly pat it into shape”.

Due to my overly enthusiastic pounding of the beef, the meatloaf turned out quite dense and dry and only about an inch and a half high (go figure, it doesn’t rise like bread!), albeit it was still tasty.


RECIPE

Ingredients

  • 2lbs ground beef
  • garlic powder
  • Lipton onion soup mix 1 packet
  • 1 egg
  • Ketchup or bbq sauce
  • Bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mush it all up.

Add bread crumbs vs sauce until you achieve a sticky consistency.  (The way I decided this?  When I rolled the meat mush into a ball and it stayed, it was ready.)

Place in a small loaf pan or roll into balls 1-2″ in diameter and cook them in muffin tins.

Cook 30-40 minutes  (loaf – 60 min)

About Amanda Pants

A bit odd, a bit eccentric, a bit loud. Kinda goth, kinda alt, kinda geeky. Crochet/cooking/reading/writing/big stompy boots/journals and a Cheshire grin! All recorded on Wordpress ;) Learning to cook with a Dash of Daring and a Pinch of Panic: ediblenoir.wordpress.com Sewing and fibre arts, creations made by moi: stitchnoir.wordpress.com Random rants and other bits and pieces: adashofnoir.wordpress.com View all posts by Amanda Pants

3 responses to “Pounding the Beef – Making my first Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

